Our Pathway, our exhibition

Our exhibition will be held at Jubilee Business Centre, Top Floor, The Works Gallery, 130 Pershore Street , Birmingham B5 6Nd on 6th March 2014 from 5.00 p.m. to 7.00 p.m

We went to the Work Gallery on Monday to view the place and see where we can place our work. I have chosen the place for my work. My sculpture piece needs some painting so I left the place early to finish my work.

IMG_1293

Artist: Catherine Suen

On Tuesday, I bought my work to the Gallery and hang it up. Try to arrange the sculpture piece in a way at the queen eye level but my piece needed to be a slightly higher than the queen eye level. Trying the lighting on sculpture so that the light fall on the material. I need the light to focus on the black crease contrast with the black and white ruffles to stress the dark side and the enlighten side of our emotion.

IMG_1294

Artist: ~Kelly

I went to college on Wednesday to collect 2 spotlights and extension cables. I found that lighting play a big role on our display piece. I need to get different type of bulb so that it will give an extra texture for my sculpture.

IMG_1296

Artist: Susie

On Thursday, I change the bulb and give helping hands to those that need to display their pieces. I also bought my fryer to the Gallery and provide some spring rolls for everyone while they are busy getting everything ready for the show. Pressure and stress level scored up around 3.00 p.m. to 4.00 p.m. as everyone must be out of the gallery by 4.00 p.m.

IMG_1301

Artist: Mandy

Finally, the whole Gallery are sparky clean and ready for viewing by 4.30 p.m. Graham let all of us in to enjoy a glass of red and white wine with food and the guests and visitors start coming in at 4.45 p.m. The timing is spot on and I am amazed that such a big crowds come for the public viewing.

IMG_1325 IMG_1324

Artist – Maggie

I am totally speechless that within 6 weeks of our pathway and each of us able to produce such an amazing works for the show. It is a big success for our first exhibition I just could not believe how proud we are at what we have achieved in such a short time. Unfortunately, I didn’t get drunk with wine or success, as we need to work harder for our final show in June. It is so sad that all the hard work we put into this show is just for 2 hours and we need to take down everything by 9.30 a.m. the next day. I wish the Principal of Sutton Coldfield College and the Director of the Foundation Art and Design comes and see our show and understand that all the hard works the students and lecturers put into is not just for 2 hours but at least for another day or two so that more people can view our work.

IMG_1331 IMG_1330

Artist – Freya

This is the first time that our Foundation Art and Design has the mid year exhibition and it is an experience for us so that it will help us to understand how to prepare and curate for our FMP exhibition. I am so happy and honor to be at this College where I derive a lot of knowledge from my lecturers and get the exposure what an artist will be when we go for our further studies. I fully recommend to any one who is interest in Foundation Art and Design this is the best college in Midland and Staffordshire.

Leave a Reply

