Sculpture – Weeks 4 and 5

IMG_3089 IMG_3091 IMG_3093

I feel so bad that I missed 2 weeks lessons to go to Iceland for holiday. It is a dream of my life to visit Iceland so I think it is worth it.  I have to work harder at our one week school holiday. To get different process and testing on my sculpture pieces.

IMG_3089 IMG_3083 IMG_3082

I have bought a box of fiberglass and want to mix the ham and fabric together to create a testing piece. Mix the resin with the hardener. Cut the fiberglass first then placed the meat on top of it, applied the resin onto it. Once it finished placed a piece of scrim fabric onto it. and applied another layer of resin onto it.  It took about half an hour to dry. Once it was dry I simply love this effect of the harden plastic as it covered the ham to prevent it rotten and keep the scent away.

IMG_3087 IMG_3094 IMG_3085

I will have to try to mix all my four combination of latex, fabric, meat and fiberglass together to create a sculpture piece out of it. It is still a question mark in my mind and I have no idea what the outcome will be so it all depend on my testing pieces again. I find this exploratory stage quite daunting, every testing pieces I done and if I don’t get it correct then my confident level will drop a level but it does give me a better knowledge of the process and  materials.

IMG_3101 Simply love this finish piece and will have to do another few tests with latex, meat and fiberglass.

Leave a Reply

