Preparation for our exhibition

Finally  this is our last week to set out our sculptures pieces at the gallery. Our exhibition will be on 3rd to 4th March 2015 from 11.00 a.m. to 5.00 p.m. at The Work Gallery, Birmingham. I had just managed to finish one of my sculpture piece for the show which is made of fiber glass, latex, plaster and scrim.  As for my fine art project which title Freedom using the umbrellas to express Freedom of expression, speech and democratic and for my print making theme of “reflection”  on the old Tai Po train station in Hong Kong. Using photo transfer images of the old station photos onto the old and rusty wooden plank.

IMG_4433 IMG_4437

It took 1 day to hang the 3 pieces of sculpture pieces and  I needed to get the spot light for my sculpture pieces so that it will show the decay meat torso of the 3rd pieces. The theme for my sculpture piece is “Silent Cruelty” and it took time to show the cruelty and harm to a person as times goes and the damaged it create to a person  mentally and physically to a human body.

IMG_4464

During our this week at the gallery I have to figure up how to hang the pieces and using lighting to create a dramatic effect on the pieces. For my fine art piece – using ready make plastic umbrella and tried to paint new paints onto the plastic, which I have not foreseen that it will took me so much times by trying different paints and how to get the paint stick onto the fragile plastic. During this process it change my outlook of ready make products to create a sculpture pieces.

IMG_4458 IMG_4427 IMG_4443 IMG_4457

Unfortunately, I haven’t finish this project yet as there are still lot of painting and creating dramatic effects and ideas but it will have to be finished later in the year as I have more times  to explore and produced these ideas onto to it.  I have to paint on the different texture created by the paint to give a depth to show the texture, tones and color on the umbrellas. The theme “Freedom” came from the students strike in Hong Kong for freedom in democratic and speech for their country.

IMG_4442 IMG_4451

Finally for the print making, I still haven’t finish polish the wooden planks yet and will bought all these planks to the gallery tomorrow and to check whether placing it on the wall or on the floor to display it. It will be long and hard working days for this week to get all ready for next week opening day on Monday. Keep my fingers cross and hope all will be ready in time for the exhibition.

3 thoughts on “Preparation for our exhibition

Leave a Reply

